22 Things I’ve Learned in 22 Years

Grace Yeung
3 min readJan 31, 2021

Today is my 22nd birthday and here are the top life lessons I’ve learned in these 22 rotations around the sun.

  1. Empathy and vulnerability are superpowers & comparative suffering is a buzzkill. (Thank you, Brene Brown.)
  2. Going to therapy has transformed my mental health by teaching me how to address my traumas. But there is still so much work to be done to destigmatize therapy in Asian & immigrant communities/families. (Thank you to my therapist.)
  3. The joys, fears, and challenges of being a first gen immigrant and a first gen college student. Do not forget your cultural roots and where you came from but never use that as an excuse for where you are in life. You are the artist of your own life. (Thank you, Lavendaire.)
  4. Understanding your own and others’ love languages are critical to healthy relationships & friendships.
  5. Heartbreak triggers physical and mental pain but time allows us to release resentment. (Thank you, Next.)
  6. How to find joy in being alone and understand the feeling of loneliness. Being alone does not always equate to being lonely and you can still feel lonely whilst being surrounded by loving family and friends. Loneliness can also be caused by feeling unheard or unseen by those around you (Thank you, Kalyn Nicholson.)

--

--